The French-American Journeys of Josephine Baker

The French-American Journeys of Josephine Baker

Ilana Navaro in conversation with Pamela Druckerman


Friday, January 22 at 11:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.
Free admission
Online via Zoom • in English

Register now

11:00 a.m. (Chicago) • 12:00 p.m. (New York)  6:00 p.m. (Paris) 


How did a poor black girl from Missouri become the queen of Paris, before joining the French Resistance and then adopting twelve children to create her own utopian “Rainbow Tribe”?
 



Ilana Navaro will talk about Josephine Baker’s life in France, and her journey from “banana dancer” to humanist fighter and civil-rights activist alongside Dr. Martin Luther King. She is a filmmaker and radio producer who lives in Paris. “Josephine Baker: The Story of an Awakening” has been shown on the Franco-German channel Arte; on Cinemoi in the U.S.; and on nineteen television channels around the world. It won the Rockie Award in Arts and Culture, Banff Word Media Festival, 2020.

 

Pamela Druckerman is the host of the Pandemonium University series.